Skip to main content
Last modified on Friday, 30 September 2022 09:07

16 journalists received the BRAC Migration Media Award Featured

Rate this item
(0 votes)

16 journalists have received the BRAC Migration Media Award for their contribution to journalism in the field of migration. On Thursday (29 September 2022) the Minister of expatriates' welfare and overseas employment, Mr. Imran Ahmad, MP, attended a ceremony organised at BRAC Center as the chief guest and handed over the prizes to the winners. Director General of Bureau of manpower employment and training Md. Shahidul Alam, BRAC Executive Director Mr. Asif Saleh, and BRAC Migration Programme and Youth Initiative Programme Head Shariful Islam Hasan were present at the time.

BRAC introduced the award in 2015 to recognize journalism in the migration sector. This year the award was given for the seventh time. The award was given under the inspiration project of the BRAC Migration Programme in collaboration with the Embassy of Denmark in Bangladesh.

The chief guest of the event, Expatriates' Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Imran Ahmed, MP highlighted various measures of the government for the welfare of expatriates and said that everyone should work together. Addressing the journalists, he said that the role of the media is important in protecting the rights of migrants and providing correct information. He suggested to present the news avoiding bias.

Director General of Bureau of manpower employment and training, Md. Shahidul Alam, NDC, who was the special guest of the event, said that 7.8 million people have gone abroad in the last 13 years. 212 billion dollars (21 thousand 200 million dollars) came from expatriate income. These positive things can also come in the media. In addition to journalists, he proposed to give fair migration award to those agencies who ethically employ foreign workers.

BRAC executive director Asif Saleh, president of the event, said that migration is very important in poverty alleviation, especially in the rural economy. That is why we work in the migration sector to create skilled people, secure migration, stop human trafficking and repatriate repatriates. Every year we organise this event of Media Awards with enthusiasm so that a picture of the whole year emerges. He said, if there is goodwill, change is possible.

Shariful Hasan, Head of BRAC's Migration and Youth Initiatives Programme, presented the keynote address. International Organization for Migration (IOM) Deputy Chief of Mission Nusrat Ghazzali, ILO Chief Technical Advisor Laetitia Weibel, Jury Board Member from the Ministry of expatriates' welfare and overseas employment, deputy secretary Mr. ABM Abdul Halim and Secretary General of Bangladesh Association of International Recruiting Agencies, Mr. Shamim Ahmed Chowdhury Noman spoke on the occasion.

On January 14 this year, the announcement of the 7th BRAC Migration Media Award was published on the media and BRAC website. This year, the members of the jury board were Professor Robaet Ferdous of the Department of Mass Communication and Journalism of Dhaka University, Mr. ABM Abdul Halim, Deputy Secretary of the expatriates' welfare and overseas employment Ministry, Shaikh Muhammad Refat Ali of ILO and Chief News Editor of News24 Television Shahnaz Munni.

Daily Samakal's Rajib Ahmed won the first place in the newspaper national category this year. Prothom Alo's Mansoora Hossain was second and The Financial Express's Arafat Ara and Ajker Patrika’s correspondent Md. Shahriar Hasan (currently working in Dainik Bangla) achieved joint third place. Farooq Munir of daily Chittagong Khabar was first in newspaper regional category, Shariful Islam of Ekushey newspaper was second and Md Emdad Uliah of weekly Chauddagram newspaper was third.

Sabina Yasmin of DBC News, (now working at Independent Television) took first place in the television news category. Marzia Mumu of Zaham Television was second and Masuda Khatun of News24 was third. Channel 24's Morshed Hassib Hasan won the award in the television program category. Md. Mostafizur Rahman of Bangladesh Betar won the award in the radio category.

The first prize in the online newspaper category was won by Md. Jahangir Alam of Jagonews 24 online. Dainik Prothom Alo's Md. Mohiuddin came second and Dainik Bangla's Jasmine Akhtar and expatriate freelancer Rakib Hasan jointly got the third prize.

Each winner receives a crest, certificate of recognition and a check for the prize money as an award.

Read 2807 times

Join the world’s biggest family



STAY INFORMED. Subscribe to our newsletter.